Section: Dressage

Dressage: Dujardin scoops Sportswoman of the Year award

Double Olympic champion Charlotte Dujardin has been rewarded for her dressage dominance by being named Sportswoman of the Year.

Dujardin is the third horsewoman to win the award after Pippa Funnell and Zara Phillips scooped top prizes in 2003 and 2005 respectively.

She told Sky Sports: “I have an incredible relationship with my horse Valegro after working with him for eight years. He is like my dance partner and he should be receiving the award with me but he is at home in his stable.

“My next big competition is the World Cup final in Las Vegas next year and then the Europeans and the Olympics.”

Lizzy Yarnold was named runner-up following her skeleton gold medal in Sochi at the Winter Olympics earlier this year, but quadruple Commonwealth Games champion Claudio Fragapane was crowned young sportswoman of the year for her exploits in Glasgow.

England’s World-Cup winning rugby union side took the team of the year gong and Stephanie Slater, who won seven gold medals at the IPC European swimming championships, won the disability sportswoman award.

Read more at ESPN